RUS ENG GER Tickets booking

Hours of Operation:
Monday – closed
Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday - 10.00-18.00
Wednesday - 13.00-21.00

Kirochnaya St., 43, St. Petersburg.

Phone: +7 (812) 579-39-14

Science Library


The book collection started to accumulate with the Russian and foreign editions about A.V. Suvorov, bought by the well-known historian and collector Vasilii Pavlovich Engelhardt (1828-1915) during his journey along the route of Suvorov's troops in Switzerland. The book collection was transferred to the museum fund in 1899. The documents and books donated to the museum by Emperor Nicholas the II are of exceptional value.

The first librarian of the museum was an employee of the Academy of the General Staff, Sergei Dmitrievich Maslovsky (1876 - 1943), literary pseudonym – Mstislavsky. According to the decision of the Suvorov Commission in 1901, he compiled and published the "Inventory of monuments and objects in the temporary premises of the Suvorov Museum under the Nikolaev Academy of the General Staff." This "Inventory" is the first guide of the museum.

In 1912, S. D. Maslovsky wrote and published an article about A. V. Suvorov in the "Russian Biographical Dictionary." The value of the article is that it is supplemented by extensive Russian and foreign bibliographic sources.

The scientific library stores and collects historically valuable funds. Nowadays this structural unit of the museum is of the interest not only for specialists engaged in the history of military art, but also for professionals of a broad humanitarian profile. Currently, the library's collection has more than 25,000 items, including more than 10,000 rare editions. The library fund is a specialized independent part of the museum fund. The most extensive part of the library is the Suvorov section. The library is closely connected with the scientific pursuits of the museum. Its potential is used in research preparation, educational programs, and informational projects.


The library's fund is represented by the unique encyclopedias, reference books, dictionaries, and scientific collections on Russian and foreign military history, uniform, and weapons science. The Russian history section should be especially noted. This section of the collection is distinguished by a variety and thorough selection of publications, including the periodic ones.

The library’s collection includes more than 250 book collections, among which are the rarities from the libraries of the imperial family and the Russian nobility: Emperor Nicholas II, Grand Dukes Alexander Mikhailovich, Georgy Mikhailovich, Sergey Alexandrovich, Mikhail Alexandrovich, princes A. B. Lobanov-Rostovsky and E. Lvov, Count A. Apraksin, Sheremetev family. There are many book rarities within these publications that were later seized from the circulation by the censorship.

The rare editions about the great commander of the well-known collectors A. I. Lyubimov, M. V. Lyushkovsky, V. N. Gruzanov, Russian historians M. I. Bogdanovich, I. E. Zabelin, and the book publisher A. S. Suvorin enhanced and replenished the library fund. These rare editions are of the great interest to scientist; many of the books possess bibliographic rarity due to small printing and pre-planned destinations in certain libraries, including the courtiers, libraries of regimental museums, and military schools.

Suvorov Commandments

How to Find Us
Follow Us:
© www.suvorovmuseum.ru | 2014-2018 | All rights reserved | IT-support - http://international.itsai.org/
Website support – Systems of Artificial Intelligence Company

RUS ENG Бронирование билетов

Время работы:
понедельник — выходной
вторник, четверг-воскресенье — 10.00-18.00
среда — 13.00-21.00

Кирочная ул., 43, Санкт-Петербург.

Телефон: +7 (812) 579-39-14

Научная библиотека


Начало книжному собранию положили русские и иностранные издания о А. В. Суворове, приобретенные известным историком и собирателем Василием Павловичем Энгельгардтом (1828 – 1915) во время его путешествия по маршруту суворовских войск в Швейцарии. Книжная коллекция была передана в состав музейного фонда в 1899 году. Исключительную ценность представляют документы и книги, подаренные музею императором Николаем II.

Первым библиотекарем музея был назначен сотрудник Академии Генерального штаба Сергей Дмитриевич Масловский (1876 – 1943), литературный псевдоним – Мстиславский. Им же, по решению Суворовской комиссии в 1901 г., была составлена и опубликована “Опись памятникам и предметам во временном помещении Суворовского музея при Николаевской Академии Генерального штаба”. Эта “ Опись” является первым путеводителем музея.

В 1912 г. С. Д. Масловским была написана и опубликована статья о А. В. Суворове в “Русском биографическом словаре”. Ценность статьи в том, что она дополнена обширными русскими и иностранными библиографическими источниками.

Научная библиотека хранит и собирает исторически ценные фонды. Ныне это структурное подразделение музея представляет интерес не только для специалистов, занимающихся историей военного искусства, но и специалистов широкого гуманитарного профиля. В настоящее время фонд библиотеки насчитывает более 25 тысяч единиц хранения, в том числе более 10 тысяч редких изданий. Библиотечный фонд является специализированной самостоятельной частью музейного фонда. Наиболее обширная часть - суворовский отдел. Работа библиотеки тесно связана с научной деятельностью музея. Ее потенциал используется при подготовке научно- просветительских программ и информационных проектов.


Фонд библиотеки представлен уникальными энциклопедиями, справочниками, словарями, научными сборниками по русской и зарубежной военной истории, обмундированию, оружиеведению. Следует особо отметить раздел русской истории. Данный раздел собрания отличается разнообразием и основательным подбором изданий, в том числе и периодических.

Собрание библиотеки включает более 250 книжных коллекций, среди которых раритеты из библиотек императорской семьи и русского дворянства: императора Николая II , Великих князей Александра Михайловича, Георгия Михайловича, Сергея Александровича, Михаила Александровича, князей А. Б. Лобанова – Ростовского и Е. Львова, графа А. Апраксина, Шереметевых. Среди этих изданий много книжных редкостей, изъятых позже цензурой из обращения.

Украсили и пополнили библиотечный фонд редкие издания о великом полководце известных собирателей А. И. Любимова, М. В. Люшковского, В. Н. Грусланова, русских историков М. И. Богдановича, И. Е. Забелина, книгоиздателя А. С. Суворина. Эти книжные редкости представляют интерес для ученых, многие являются библиографической редкостью из – за небольшого тиража и заранее спланированного предназначения для определенных библиотек, в том числе придворных, библиотек полковых музеев, военно – учебных заведений.

ЗАПОВЕДИ СУВОРОВА

КАК НАС НАЙТИ
Следуйте за нами:
© www.suvorovmuseum.ru | 2014-2017 | All rights reserved | Design by EMT Разработано компанией «Европейские музейные технологии» | 2014-2017